God Bless America

When you grow up with both parents working in the government and grandparents who enjoy talking politics at the dinner table, the last thing you want to do is discuss politics on my blog…However, I am sharing my stance on politics as per request of my professor.

I pay attention to the malicious media, I hear people argue over candidates with invalid evidence, I watch the debates as the candidates stick to their talking points (and never actually answer the question being asked), and I watch as the political parties shape the candidates—rather than the contrary.

After many years of listening and observing the political chaos within the United States I’ve noticed that at the end of the day it doesn’t matter who we elect for president—it matters who we put behind him.

During the 2008 presidential election Obama won the crowd over with his innovative social media campaign that encouraged “Change.” Did anyone even know what Obama stood for or were people just voting for him because he is young and black? During the 2012 presidential elections I heard so many people expressing their hatred for Obama, and how he is the ‘worst president in history. ‘ In fact, I even had someone try and tell me that Obama doesn’t support the troops…Anyways, one of the biggest complaints I’ve heard from people is that they can’t stand Obamacare. Did you know Obamacare was based off Romney’s healthcare plan for Massachusetts? Just like everything else in the media today, you cannot believe everything you hear or read—there is always more to a story.

I know it’s a bit far away, but during the 2016 elections make sure you do you your own research. Tune out the media and make your own decisions. Look up all of the facts and truly listen to what the candidates say. Each candidate represents the old fashioned views of his or her political party.

I think it’s time we go back to a government that is run by the people, not people who are just run by the government. Seriously who cares about political parties? If this is America, “land of the free, home of the brave,” then why does the government think they have any right to take a stance on whether a woman chooses to use birth control or get an abortion? Land of the free, yet homosexuals can only get married in specific states? God Bless America…really? I wonder how Stephen Hawking would argue that. The United States has come a long way, but times are still changing and the government must transform with it. We need constitutional change, not just a change in leadership.

Leave a Reply

