The Day Our Lives Changed: September 11th, 2001

I was 8 years old sitting in class when an announcement came on the loud speaker. My teacher turned on the T.V. and my class watched as a plane crashed into a large building. At first the volume wasn’t turned on so I had no idea what we were watching; I thought it was a movie. The screen changed back to the news anchors and the breaking news read something along the lines of Terrorist Attack: Plane Crashes Into Pentagon.

I looked to my best friend and started crying. Both of my parents worked for the government and my Dad had said that morning he had a meeting at the Pentagon. Just as parents started walking into the classroom another announcement came on the loud speaker explaining that school was going to be let out early. Most of my friends were picked up by their parents or took the school bus home. However, I was in an afterschool childcare program since both my parents always worked late. The program I was in only lasted until 6 p.m. and if your parents didn’t show up by 7 p.m. the school was required to call the police. Six o’clock passed and no one had come to get me yet. I called my parents at work and all the phones had been disconnected. I called my mom’s cell phone and it went straight to voicemail. I called my dad’s cell phone and it went straight to voicemail as well. We sat by the phone for another 45 minutes and just as I started crying the phone rang. My dad was calling to let them know he was on his way and would be there soon, but there was a lot of traffic. When he finally got to the school I gave him the tightest hug I could. On the way home my dad further explained what was happening and that my mom was fine. The following week I learned some of my classmates had lost an aunt or uncle and one girl even lost her dad. I remember going to the grocery store and everyday for the next year we would see pictures posted on the community bulletin board of people who lost their lives on 9/11. From that day forward, things were never the same.

9/11 not only affected families who lost the ones they love, but it affected every American citizen and the way we live our lives. I’ve visited the 9/11 memorials and museums in Washington, D.C. and New York, and it’s difficult to hold back the tears. I didn’t directly know anyone who died that day, but the thoughts and feelings of being scared, threatened, and harmed as an innocent bystander are real. It’s hard to believe 9/11 happened 13 years ago…The aftereffects will last forever, but as a nation we have come together to fight for our freedom and safety.

Bless the USA ❤

Leave a Reply

